

SPECIAL CITY COUNCIL MEETING 777 B Street, Hayward, CA 94541 City Hall, Conference Room 2A

https://hayward.zoom.us/j/83639328548?pwd=ZUdDZE5lM2R1dHNFbVJoVXJBckdmQT09

Tuesday, August 27, 2024, 5:00 p.m.

The City Council meeting was called to order by Mayor Salinas at 5:00 p.m. in Conference Room 2A, City Hall.

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE: Council Member Bonilla Jr.

ROLL CALL

Present: COUNCIL MEMBER Andrews, Bonilla Jr., Goldstein, Roche, Syrop, Zermeño

MAYOR Salinas

Absent: NONE

Council Member Roche joined the interviews after 5:00 p.m.

PUBLIC COMMENTS

There were none.

CITY COMMISSIONS INTERVIEWS

 Annual City Commissions Interviews: Interview Applicants for Service on the Library Commission, Personnel Commission and Planning Commission (Report from City Clerk) RPT 24-064

Members of the City Council interviewed twelve applicants as follows: Shahin Shaikh, Valerie Fredericks, Joshua De Miguel, Roy D' Lucca, Linda Gruel Neff, Rebecca Parr, Vishal Sharma, Collin Thormoto, Jeffrey Haman, Sergey Melnikov, and Vasko Yorgov. Applicants Samiksha Lingan and Douglas Mansel withdrew their applications and applicant Veronica Sanchez did not participate.

SELECTION

2. Selection of Members for Service on the Library Commission, Personnel Commission and Planning Commission **ACT 24-057**

LIBRARY COMMISSION

Motion made by Mayor Salinas, seconded by Council Member Andrews, to select Valery Fredericks (1-year term) and Joshua De Miguel (1-year term); **APPROVED**; 6:1:0 (AYES: Andrews, Bonilla Jr., Goldstein, Roche, Zermeño, Salinas; NOES: Syrop)

PERSONNEL COMMISSION

Motion made by Council Member Syrop, seconded by Council Member Roche, to select Linda Gruel Neff (3-year term); **APPROVED**; 6:1:0 (AYES: Bonilla Jr., Goldstein, Roche, Syrop, Zermeño, Salinas; NOES: Andrews)

Motion made by Council Member Zermeño, seconded by Mayor Salinas, to select Rebecca Parr (4-year term); **APPROVED**; 6:1:0 (AYES: Andrews, Goldstein, Roche, Syrop, Zermeño, Salinas; ABSTAIN: Bonilla Jr.)

PLANNING COMMISSION

Motion made by Mayor Salinas, seconded by Council Member Andrews, to select Jeffrey Haman (4-year term) and Vasko Yorgov (Alternate); **APPROVED**; 7:0:0 (AYES: Andrews, Bonilla Jr., Goldstein, Roche, Syrop, Zermeño, Salinas)

ADJOURNMENT

APPROVED

Mayor Salinas adjourned the special City Council meeting at 9:44 p.m.

III I ROVED	
Mark Salinas	_
Mayor, City of Hayward	
ATTEST:	
ATTLST:	
Miriam Lens	
City Clerk, City of Hayward	