

MINUTES

Community Services Commission Meeting October 16, 2024 @ 7:00 pm

Hayward City Hall, 777 B Street, Hayward, CA 94541 - Conference Room 2A & Zoom

ANNOUNCEMENT OF MEETING AVAILABILITY

Webinar ID: 837 9984 9119 - Passcode Rsf+00ct - Passcode for "Dial-in Option" 66032471

CALL TO ORDER

Meeting called to order at 7:01pm by Chair Austin Bruckner Carrillo

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE - Led by Commissioner Linda Moore

ROLL CALL

Members Present:

- Elaine Alvite, Commissioner
- Guadalupe Angulo, Commissioner
- Amardeep Brar, Commissioner
- Austin Bruckner Carrillo, Commissioner / Chair
- Hoang Dao, Commissioner
- Hazel de Leon, Commissioner
- Jesse Gunn, Commissioner
- Yoshiko Kimura, Commissioner
- Daisy Maxion, Commissioner
- Linda Moore, Commissioner / Vice Chair
- Jagdeep Singh, Commissioner
- Collin Thormoto, Commissioner / Parliamentarian
- Lenita Wheeler, Commissioner
- Calvin Wong, Commissioner

Members Absent:

- Janet Kassouf, Commissioner
- Mariana Triviso, Commissioner

Staff:

- Dr. Amy Cole-Bloom, Community Services Manager
- Regina Youngblood, Assistant City Manager
- Carol Lee, Sr. Management Analyst
- Evelyn R. Olivera, Senior Secretary

PUBLIC COMMENT

None

MINUTES

Approval of the Minutes of the Community Services Commission Meeting on September 18, 2024

• Commissioner Collin Thormoto made a motion to approve the minutes Commissioner Linda Moore seconded. The minutes were approved thirteen (13) Yay votes and one (1) abstention. See *Figure 1: Action Item Votes* for roll call vote.

DISCUSSION

Informational Report: Announcement of Bidder's Conference - October 28, 2024

Dr. Cole-Bloom announced the publication of the FY25-26 NOFA for the CAF process. A virtual mandatory Bidder's Conference will be held on Monday, October 28, 2024. Applicants who cannot attend are encouraged to reach out to staff to get the information. No action required.

Informational Report: Commissioner Biographies

Dr. Cole-Bloom provided an informational overview, noting that biographies from interested commissioners were included in the staff report to offer background information. No action required.

Report: CSC Elections

Dr. Cole-Bloom reviewed the officer roles up for election. After instructions on the voting process, commissioners made nominations then submitted their ballots, with the option to abstain, for all their choices for the FY 2024 – 2025 officer elections.

The results for FY 2024 – 2025 Officers were:

- Chair: Commissioner Bruckner Carrillo
- Vice Chair: Commissioner Moore
- Parliamentarian: Commissioner Maxion

The vote tallies for FY 2024 – 2025 Officers were:

<u>Chair</u>		Vice C	<u>Vice Chair</u>		<u>Parliamentarian</u>	
Name	Count of Vote	Name	Count of Vote	Name	Count of Vote	
Austin Bruckner Carrillo	12	Linda Moore	14	Daisy Maxion	11	
Jagdeep Singh	2			Calvin Wong	2	

Oral Report: Council Ad Hoc Committee on Boards & Commissioners – Review of documents, if available

Assistant City Manager Regina Youngblood updated the Commission on the Ad Hoc Committee for Boards and Commissions. The next meeting will be on October 28th, where the committee will finalize their proposed recommendations. These will be shared with the Commission before the meeting on November 13th, commissioners are invited to provide your feedback at that time or via written public comment.

Oral Report: CSC Conversations on Racial Equity, Public Safety

Dr. Cole-Bloom stated staff has no report at this time.

Report: CSC Agenda Planning Calendar

Dr. Cole-Bloom announced staff recommends adding the Consolidated Plan for Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) funding to the November calendar. The recommendation to agendize a work session for the November CSC meeting to provide the Commission information and explanation on CDBG funding parameters and an opportunity for the Commission to provide feedback for the five-year plan.

 A motion to approve the agenda planning calendar as written with an amendment to add a CDBG Consolidated Plan work session and an oral report of the November 13 Ad Hoc Committee meeting to the November CSC meeting was moved by Commissioner Gunn and was seconded by Commissioner Moore. The motion was approved unanimously. See Figure 1: Action Item Votes for roll call vote.

Council Liaison / Commissioner / Staff Announcements

- Commissioner Thormoto summarized his three years serving on the CSC and announced his resignation out of respect for the CSC and his role within it with his work outside of the commission. He encouraged the Commission to continue to work together to demand more support vulnerable community members. He thanked staff and all his fellow Commissioners for their service to the City of Hayward.
- Assistant City Manager responded to Commissioner Wheeler's inquiry regarding the City's Racial Equity and Inclusion Officer, Josephine Ayankoya, and her work revitalizing the City's Racial Equity Action Plan. In addition to Ms. Ayankoya, there is a group of staff trained in racial equity, GARE staff.
- Commissioner Gunn announced that HUSD adopted a climate literacy resolution. The goal
 is to have climate literate graduating students. The groups from Tennyson High School and
 Chavez Middle School, responsible for implementation will be presenting the Climate
 Empowerment Learning Initiative on October 23, 2024. Commissioner Gunn encouraged
 the commission to watch the meeting.

- Commissioner Bruckner Carrillo thanked Parliamentarian Thormoto for his service and guidance in accordance with Bylaws, to the Commission.
- Dr. Cole-Bloom presented Commissioner Thormoto with a certificate of appreciation for his service to the Commission.

FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS

ADJOURNMENT

Chair Austin Bruckner Carrillo adjourned the meeting at 8:30 pm

Figure 1: Action Item Votes

Community Services Commission Meeting Voting Tally Sheet for October 16, 2024

Commissioner	Roll Call	Minutes of the September 18, 2024 CSC Meeting	Item 6 CSC Agenda Planning Calendar		
Chair Austin Bruckner Carrillo	Present	Yay	Yay		
Vice Chair Linda Moore	Present	Second, Yay	Second, Yay		
Parliamentarian Collin Thormoto	Present	First, Yay	Yay		
Elaine Alvite	Present	Yay	Yay		
Guadalupe Angulo	Present	Yay	Yay		
Amardeep Brar	Present	Yay	Yay		
Hoang Dao	Present	Yay	Yay		
Hazel de Leon	Present	Yay	Yay		
Jesse Gunn	Present	Abstain	First, Yay		
Janet Kassouf	Absent	Absent	Absent		
Yoshiko Kimura	Present	Yay	Yay		
Daisy Maxion	Present	Yay	Yay		
Jagdeep Singh	Present	Yay	Yay		
Mariana Triviso	Absent	Absent	Absent		
Lenita Wheeler	Present	Yay	Yay		
Calvin Wong	Present	Yay	Yay		