## **MINUTES**

## City of Hayward Community Services Commission

October 17, 2018 @ 7:00 PM Hayward City Hall 777 B Street, Hayward, CA 94541 Conference Room 2A

CALL TO ORDER: Meeting called to order at 7:02 p.m. by Vice Chairperson Roche.

## **ROLL CALL**

#### Members:

- Elisha Crader, Commissioner
- Jose Lara Cruz, Commissioner
- Michael Francisco, Commissioner
- Arti Garg, Commissioner
- Saira Guzman, Commissioner
- Alicia Lawrence, Commissioner
- Arzo Mehdavi, Commissioner/Parliamentarian
- Linda Moore, Commissioner
- Zachariah Oquenda, Commissioner
- Afshan Qureshi, Commissioner
- Julie Roche, Commissioner/Vice Chairperson
- Ernesto Sarmiento, Jr., Commissioner
- David Tsao, Commissioner
- Corina Vasaure, Commissioner
- Rachael Zargar, Commissioner

#### Members absent:

- Janet Kassouf, Commissioner
- Arvindra Reddy, Commissioner

# Staff:

- Dana Bailey, Community Services Division Manager
- Evelyn Olivera, Senior Secretary (Recorder)

## Guests:

- Diane Fagalde
- Karen Norell
- Ralph Morales
- Kieran Holmes

## **Public Comments:**

None

<u>Approval of Minutes of the Community Services Commission Meeting on September 19, 2018.</u>
It was moved by Commissioner Mehdavi to approve the Minutes with a second by Commissioner Moore. The minutes were approved unanimously.

## **Staff Announcements**

Staff updated the Commission on the City Attorney's office response to questions from the previous meeting addressing: 1) Adopted Bylaw wording by comparison to the wording of Municipal Code Ordinance #11.10, 2) Powers and duties assigned to the Commission and the body's ability to change them, and 3) The Commission's power to recommend to Council new legislation.

## Discussions:

Staff reviewed the nominating process for FY 2019 Commission Officers. Three candidates for each of the vacant positions were nominated and ballots were distributed to all attending Commissioners. Upon staff tally, the vote count determined the following: Commissioner Julie Roche is the new Chair, Commissioner Arzo Mehdavi is the new Vice Chair and Zacharia Oquenda is the new Parliamentarian. Congratulations to our new officers.

Staff reviewed the FY 2017-18 Performance Report of funded agencies and their outcomes. Staff answered various questions from the commission regarding the performance of the agencies. The Commission asked if staff would provide the last 5 years of agency funding and staff agreed to distribute the information with the FY 2019-20 applications.

Staff reminded the Commission of the upcoming Bidder's Conference on Tuesday, October 30, 2018 in Council Chambers at Hayward City Hall. The Bidder's Conference is designed to acquaint applicants and the public with the application, the funding decision-making process and program guidelines and eligibility. The City of Hayward will award federal Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) and City general funds to eligible projects for community, economic development and public service activities in Hayward that benefit low-income Hayward residents. All awards are subject to funding availability. Attendance at the Bidder's Conference is required of all prospective applicants. Application must be submitted online through City Data Services by December 13, 2018 by 5pm.

# <u>Commissioner/Staff Announcements</u>

Commissioner Francisco announced a request on behalf of absent Commissioner Reddy for the donation of fifteen frozen turkeys to needy families for the Thanksgiving holiday. If interested in donating, please contact Commissioner Reddy.

Staff announced the Annual Holiday Reception Honoring the 2018 Boards, Commission, Committee and Task Force (BCCTF) on Friday, December 14, 2018 from 6 to 8 pm in the Rotunda of City Hall.



# Future Agenda Items

- Standing Item: Community Services Commission Agenda Planning Calendar
- Homelessness Update: Alameda County Supervisor Valle
- Brief from new Housing Manager
- Brown Act Training City Attorney Representative

# Adjournment at 8:29pm

Attendance	Present at 10/17/18	Meetings Present to	Excused to Date	Absent to Date
	Meeting	Date FY19	FY19	FY19
Elisha Crader	✓	2	0	0
Jose Lara Cruz	✓	2	0	0
Michael Francisco	✓	3	0	0
Arti Garg	✓	1	0	1
Saira Guzman	✓	3	0	0
Janet Kassouf	0	2	0	1
Alicia Lawrence	✓	2	0	0
Arzo Mehdavi **	✓	2	1	1
Linda Moore	✓	2	0	0
Zachariah Oquenda ***	✓	2	0	0
Afshan Qureshi	✓	2	0	0
Arvindra Reddy	0	2	0	1
Julie Roche *	✓	3	0	0
Ernesto Sarmiento Jr.	✓	3	0	0
David Tsao	✓	2	0	1
Corina Vasaure	✓	2	0	0
Rachel Zargar	✓	2	0	1

 $<sup>\</sup>checkmark$  = Present 0= absent X= excused



<sup>\*</sup> Chairperson

<sup>\*\*</sup> Vice Chairperson

<sup>\*\*\*</sup> Parliamentarian