

The special City Council meeting was called to order by Mayor Halliday at 4:15 p.m. The meeting was conducted utilizing teleconferencing and electronic means consistent with State of California Executive Order No 29-20 dated March 17, 2020, regarding the COVID-19 pandemic. Members of the City Council, City Staff, and members of the public participated via the Zoom platform.

Pledge of Allegiance: Council Member Lamnin

ROLL CALL

Present: COUNCIL MEMBERS Andrews, Lamnin, Márquez, Salinas, Wahab

MAYOR Halliday

Absent: COUNCIL MEMBER Zermeño

PUBLIC COMMENTS

There were none received.

CONSENT

 Adopt a Resolution Approving a Side Letter of Agreement between the City of Hayward and the Hayward Fire Chiefs' Association to Make Association Members Whole Following Fiscal Year 2021 Concessions and Authorizing the City Manager to Execute the Agreement CONS 21-427

Staff report submitted by Human Resources Director Sangy dated July 27, 2021, was filed.

It was moved by Council Member Márquez, seconded by Council Member Lamnin, and carried by the following roll call vote, to approve the resolution.

AYES: COUNCIL MEMBERS Andrews, Lamnin, Márquez, Salinas,

Wahab

MAYOR Halliday

NOES: None

ABSENT: COUNCIL MEMBER Zermeño

ABSTAIN: None

Resolution 21-170, "Resolution Approving a Side Letter of Agreement with the Hayward Fire Chiefs' Association to Make Association Members Whole Following Fiscal Year 2021 Concessions"

CITY COMMISSIONS INTERVIEWS

2. Annual City Commissions Interviews: Interview Applicants for Community Services Commission, Library Commission, and Planning Commission; and Consider Keep Hayward Clean and Green Task Force (KHCGTF) Applicants Selected by the KHCGTF Subcommittee RPT 21-095

Twenty-one out of twenty-three applicants were interviewed. Two applicants withdrew their applications due to personal reasons.

SELECTION

3. Selection of Members for Service on the Community Services Commission, Library Commission, Planning Commission and Confirmation of Members for Keep Hayward Clean and Green Task Force **ACT 21-067**

Formal action will be taken on September 21, 2021, during the City Council meeting.

Planning Commission (1 Vacancy)

MOTION by Council Member Salinas, seconded by Council Member Wahab to appoint Ms. Briggitte Lowe (1-year term) to fill the vacancy and appoint Ms. Arti Garg as the alternate to the Planning Commission; **APPROVED**, **6:0:1** (**AYES: Andrews, Lamnin, Márquez, Salinas, Wahab, Halliday; ABSENT: Zermeño**)

Library Commission (2 Vacancies)

MOTION by Council Member Salinas, seconded by Council Member Wahab to appoint Ms. Shonda Goward (1-year term) and Ms. Kelly Sullivan (2-year term) to the Library Commission; **APPROVED**, 6:0:1 (AYES: Andrews, Lamnin, Márquez, Salinas, Wahab, Halliday; ABSENT: **Zermeño**)

MOTION by Council Member Lamnin, seconded by Council Member Salinas to appoint Ms. Shareen Purcell as the alternate to the Library Commission; APPROVED, 6:0:1 (AYES: Andrews, Lamnin, Márquez, Salinas, Wahab, Halliday; ABSENT: Zermeño)

Community Services Commission (6 Vacancies)

MOTION by Council Member Márquez, seconded by Council Member Lamnin to appoint Mr. Austin Bruckner (2-year term) and Ms. Tatiana Backlund (4-year term) to the Community Services Commission; **APPROVED**, **6:0:1** (**AYES: Andrews, Lamnin, Márquez, Salinas, Wahab, Halliday; ABSENT: Zermeño**)

MOTION by Council Member Wahab, seconded by Mayor Halliday to appoint Mr. Collin Thormoto (1-year term) and Ms. Lacei Amodei (1-year term) to the Community Services Commission; APPROVED, 6:0:1 (AYES: Andrews, Lamnin, Márquez, Salinas, Wahab, Halliday; ABSENT: Zermeño)

MOTION by Council Member Salinas, seconded by Council Márquez to appoint Mr. Stanley Long (4-year term) and Mr. Pascal Garcia (4-year term) to the Community Services Commission; APPROVED, 6:0:1 (AYES: Andrews, Lamnin, Márquez, Salinas, Wahab, Halliday; ABSENT: Zermeño)

MOTION by Council Member Salinas, seconded by Council Márquez to assign terms of the six selected members for service on the Community Services Commission; APPROVED, 6:0:1 (AYES: Andrews, Lamnin, Márquez, Salinas, Wahab, Halliday; ABSENT: Zermeño)

MOTION by Council Member Márquez, seconded by Council Salinas to appoint Mr. George Syrop and Ms. Hazel De Leon as alternates to the Community Services Commission; **APPROVED**, 6:0:1 (AYES: Andrews, Lamnin, Márquez, Salinas, Wahab, Halliday; ABSENT: **Zermeño**)

Keep Hayward Clean and Green Task Force (Nine Vacancies)

MOTION by Council Member Wahab, seconded by Council Member Márquez to accept the recommendation of the KHC>F Subcommittee consisting of nine members for service on the Keep Hayward Clean and Green Task Force (Caleb Davis, Canice Adom, Douglas Mansel, Leah Martinez, Linda Xu, Michael Chand, Mohaned Elwali, Shingo Nagae, and Tom Ferreira); **APPROVED**, 6:0:1 (AYES: Andrews, Lamnin, Márquez, Salinas, Wahab, Halliday; ABSENT: **Zermeño**)

ADJOURNMENT

Mayor Halliday adjourned the special meeting at 11:14 p.m.

| APPROVED | |
|-----------------------------|--|
| Barbara Halliday | |
| Mayor, City of Hayward | |
| ATTEST: | |
| Miriam Lens | |
| City Clerk, City of Hayward | |