

# **CITY OF HAYWARD**

Hayward City Hall 777 B Street Hayward, CA 94541 www.Hayward-CA.gov

# **Action Minutes**

# **City Council**

Tuesday, December 11, 2018	7:00 PM	<b>Council Chambers</b>
----------------------------	---------	-------------------------

# SPECIAL CITY COUNCIL MEETING

## **CALL TO ORDER**

## SPECIAL PRESENTATIONS

# **Color Guard Flag Ceremony**

Hayward Police Department Honor Guard and Hayward Fire Department Honor Guard

## **Pledge of Allegiance**

Boy Scout Troop 168 Leading the Pledge Luke Fewx

## **Star-Spangled Banner**

Mt. Eden High School Choir Director of Choir Ash Walker Student Conductor Shaina Sunga

#### Poem

"Public Service" by Poet Laureate Bruce Roberts

# **ROLL CALL**

Present: 7 - Council Member Francisco Zermeno, Council Member Al Mendall, Council Member Marvin Peixoto, Council Member Sara Lamnin, Council Member Elisa Marquez, Mayor Barbara Halliday, and Council Member Mark Salinas

# **PUBLIC COMMENTS**

Ms. Ginny Delaney Ms. Angela Andrews Mr. Satinder Malhi Ms. Angelica Espinoza Mr. Ralph Farias Jr. Ms. Cynthia Nunes Mr. Frank Carto Ms. Karla Gonzalez Ms. Peggy Guernsey Mr. Charlie Peters

## **ELECTION**

<u>Resolution Acknowledging Receipt of Certificate of Election Results and Official Canvass of</u> <u>the General Municipal Election Held November 6, 2018, and Declaring the Results Thereof</u> <u>(Report from City Clerk Lens)</u>

A motion was made by Council Member Mendall, seconded by Council Member Zermeño, to approve staff's recommendation. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 7 - Council Member Zermeno, Council Member Mendall, Council Member Peixoto, Council Member Lamnin, Council Member Marquez, Mayor Halliday, and Council Member Salinas

#### PRESENTATION

Special Recognition for Council Member Marvin Peixoto

## INSTALLATION

Oath of Office and Installation of Re-Elected Mayor Barbara Halliday, Re-Elected Council Member Sara Lamnin, and Council Member-Elect Aisha Wahab

#### **ROLL CALL**

Present: 7 - Council Member Francisco Zermeno, Council Member Al Mendall, Council Member Aisha Wahab, Council Member Sara Lamnin, Council Member Elisa Marquez, Mayor Barbara Halliday, and Council Member Mark Salinas

#### **LEGISLATIVE BUSINESS**

#### Election of Mayor Pro Tempore

A motion was made by Council Member Márquez, seconded by Council Member Salinas, to elect Council Member Zermeño as Mayor Pro Tempore from January 1, 2019 to December 31, 2019. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 7 - Council Member Zermeno, Council Member Mendall, Council Member Wahab, Council Member Lamnin, Council Member Marquez, Mayor Halliday, and Council Member Salinas

<u>Transmittal of the Annual Mitigation Fee Act Report (AB 1600) (Continued to December 18, 2018)</u>

# ADJOURNMENT TO RECEPTION IN THE ROTUNDA

Mayor Halliday adjourned the meeting at 9:01 p.m. and invited all to a reception in the Rotunda.

## NEXT REGULAR MEETING, December 18, 2018, 7:00 PM